Just a chat – Me Too, Feminism, Corrie & Liam Neeson

Hello, hello, hello. How are we all on this Bank Holiday Monday which is nearly over? I can’t wait for the Summer holidays to begin so I have time to be consistent in my blogs as well as uploading at a decent time, but hey, I’m writing and that’s what counts, right?

Screenshot_2018-03-19-22-59-35-1.png

If you didn’t see my recent ranting post, you’ll find it here >>>>

Having a little rant – Feminism, #MeToo & #TimesUp – Part 1

I spoke about Feminism, being a feminist, how I don’t hate men because I’m a feminsit and ended the blog with a note about Liam Neeson.

Liam Neeson recently made this comment in an interview when talking about the #TimesUp movement…

“What is happening over there, and is it long overdue, and are you happy to see things moving the way they’re moving?” Ryan Turbidy asked (the interviewer).

“Yes,” Neeson started, adding: “There is a bit of a witch hunt happening, too.”

Liam made comments that were supporting the movement too, however, this comment kind of ruined everything he said. There is no doubt Liam is entitled to his opinion but Liam and anyone who also believes that about #TimesUp and #MeToo need to understand that their opinions hurt too. They f##king sting.

Liam made a comment that others have made, but Liam was on television, knowing anyone in world could watch this interview, people who looked up to him.

As a female and a fan, a little bit of me died inside when I heard the comment. Liam Neeson who starred in a film where is daughter was kidnapped and drugged and about to be sold off as a sex slave. A sex slave. He rescued her.

It blew my mind a little and then I had to sit back and see his side, I watched the interview and I heard it. People he admired were being accused of sexual harassment and getting fired. I’m not sure if he was condoning the behaviour or denying it or not believing it – maybe he felt like he needed to stand up for the men who may be falsely accused? I’m not quite sure.

I don’t know Liam’s view of it all, I don’t know what his meaning of a “witch hunt” is, all I know is that when he said it, it stung. That’s his opinion and he is entitled to it.

My opinion is to simply, please try to hear both sides of the story and understand that we, the women and men who find it terrifying to tell our stories for the fear of not being believed and live with the shame of it being our fault. Please understand that this is a subject that needs to be talked about correctly and with caution – this is affecting people worldwide and we need to treat it with care, because the movements that are happening right now are going to change the world for the better, for men and women.

Education is always going to be key in this matter. Kindness is also very important.

This is my opinion. Liam has his own and we both have difference of opinion and we both are entitled to that.

*

Who watches Corrie? David Platt has just been drugged and assaulted by newcomer Josh and it was hard to watch but it was a story needing to be told. The aftermath of the rape has become as you see David breakdown in the shower, throw away his clothes and vomit when he sees Josh again.

It wasn’t long before the complaints were sent to ITV – “I had to turn it off” or “it was uncomfortable to watch” but people are talking about it and we need to talk about it. It happens far too often for us to stay silent anymore.

There has been jokes about the storyline and David’s life – but I come to the realisation that we all react in different ways. In times of fear or awkwardness people try to make light of the situation and make a joke to try cheer people up a little. I just ask that you try to be kind during this storyline and your jokes as there may be people in your life or people who follow you on social media that may be triggered by this storyline.

Again, freedom of speech, but don’t forget to kill ’em with kindness.

So far, the actors, crew, writers, directors, producers and anyone else involved are doing a great job on exposing the truth about the situation and treating it with delicate care. Thank you for telling the story.

Please if you are triggered by anything I’ve written today and need someone to talk to please DM me @ire_vegan or please call your local rape hotline. Please speak to a friend, a family member or a professional. ❤

Thanks for listening x

About BlogAlongWithMe

A small town girl from Ireland, trying to travel the world bit by bit. Passionate about making this world a better place for us all to live in. Massive fan girl. I'm already a fan of you for reading this. Living a Vegan lifestyle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just a chat – Me Too, Feminism, Corrie & Liam Neeson

  1. Rachel says:

    I strictly believe the statement “everyone is entitled to their own opinion” loses ground on important issues like this. That’s kind of rolling over and accepting your own dehumanization. If it is a “witch hunt,” then so be it. Shitty people should be exposed and humiliated. His role in Taken has absolutely no grounds to believe he’s any sort of women’s advocate: he simply took a job. It’s unfortunate big stars like Neeson use their platform to try to shed responsibility instead of taking action, he clearly has something to hide.

    Rachel || anotherstationanothermile.com

    • At the moment I’ve studying psychology which at is challenging me to think about other people and their stories. I agree with you and when I first read what he said I was so very angry, I was furious and when I wrote this blog I had calmed down, now I’m just disappointed. The reason I said he can have his opinion, is because I don’t want to carry anger towards people who think things like that because I know my stories and I know I was never asking for it and I know I deserve to be believed and close minded people who think otherwise that’s their issue and I’m over worrying about them. When it comes to the Taken thing, I assumed he would have done some research into the storyline but unfortunately it doesn’t look like he did. Thank you for leaving that comment because I think you were right I was laying down and letting him have his say – I should have let my anger through a bit more. X

  2. Hannah says:

    I personally don’t watch Corrie but I have heard about this storyline because of how it blew up all over the Internet. Yes it might be uncomfortable to watch but I’m sure it is a lot more uncomfortable to talk about in real life and a damn lot more uncomfortable to have happen to you. They’re opening up a conversation that needs talking about and I cannot thank them enough for it. I love your talking blog posts. xx

Leave a comment